top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureiristridico

About being an ECE

Updated: Apr 21, 2020

I have read this 100 times and it brings me tears every single time.

I still remember back in my 17`s years old all the plans and excitement about going to school and all the things I would do next. I might confess I had absolutely no idea about the responsibilities that adult life brings.


Long story short, I took a 4 years bachelor course in International Relations and my plan was to work for the United Nations or become a Diplomat. I remember even writing a letter for my future self about my aspirations.


I had a Professor back then who would often say: “if you want to do something easy, just quit and go to study Pedagogy, go play with children”.

It makes me so angry when I think about these words nowadays. How a Professor who was a doctor in Political Science could say something with no sense like that? He had two children!


That`s why the words from this picture bring me tears, it`s a reminder about how big and how important it is to be an Early Childhood Educator. How every little thing we teach a child matter, from holding a pair of scissors to put on a muddy buddy. I can`t wait to see the difference every one of these children will make in the world one day. I am very proud of each of them already and excited when I think I am part of it somehow, right there at the beginning.


During one of our walks at Pacific Spirit Regional Park.

Love,

Iris.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page